Kudos: May 2020

Research Grants

Kaan Kuzu, Associate Professor of Supply Chain and Operations Management, is the principal investigator on the project Using Predictive Modelling to Predict Failures in Supply Chain, which has been awarded a $44,450 one-year grant from UWM’s Connected Systems Institute. The project aims to increase equipment and process reliability with prescriptive maintenance, minimize the total operational cost for the company given a set of constraints to be satisfied, provide dynamic and optimal recommendations, and develop a decision support system that can achieve “what-if” analysis. His Co-PI is Refik Soyer of The George Washington University.

Romila Singh, Associate Professor of Management and Director of Master’s Programs is a co-principal investigator with Ilya Avdeev (PI) and Nathaniel Stern (Co-PI) of the College of Engineering & Applied Science on Realizing Physics-Based Digital Twin of the MagneMotion Test Bed, which has been awarded a $50,000 one-year grant from UWM’s Connected Systems Institute. The project is designed to conceptualize and test a methodology of building a manufacturing plant’s physics-based digital twin that helps business decision making. Singh will investigate the business case for this digital twin.

Business Ethics Case Competition

This year’s Business Ethics Case Competition was held in virtual format this year, and included outstanding presentations by finalist teams of Lubar undergraduate and graduate students. The competition is sponsored by the M&I Marshall & Ilsley Center for Business Ethics. Congratulations to the winning teams!

First Place Team-Undergraduate ($2,000 prize)
Ta’Quan Campbell, Aaron Flierl, Sydney Sampson-Webb, Kailey Sharpe

First Place Team-Graduate ($2,000 prize)
Marvin Kroel, Leoni Korspeter, Rebecca Sabel

Second Place Team-Undergraduate ($1,500 prize)
Hailey Gregorio, Raiq Hussain

Second Place Team-Graduate ($1,500 prize)
Christopher Micklitz, Abigail Schroeder

Third Place Team-Undergraduate ($1,000 prize)
Mariah Kretz, Sydney Stauffer

Third Place Team-Graduate ($1,000 prize)
Fiona Abbott, Annie Jin