Kaushal Chari Named Next Dean of the Lubar School of Business

Kaushal Chari has been selected as the next dean of the Sheldon B. Lubar School of Business at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, following a national search. He will hold the title of Sheldon B. Lubar Dean.

Chari is currently Associate Dean for Research and Professional Programs and Professor of Information Systems & Decision Sciences at the University of South Florida’s Muma College of Business. At USF, he has led the successful launch of an online MBA program, a number of specialized MBA concentrations, and a doctoral program for senior executives, significantly building Muma’s enrollments, revenues, and stature.

“Dr. Chari has an outstanding record of accomplishments at USF that have raised the business school’s profile in program innovation, student success, and business engagement,” said UWM Provost Johannes Britz. “We’re delighted that he will bring his experience and ideas from another Carnegie R1 research university to UWM.”

“The deanship of the Lubar School of Business presents a great opportunity to lead a metropolitan business school towards being a hub of excellence in business education, business engagement, and business thought leadership. I believe that the Lubar School, in partnership with all of its stakeholders, will continue to distinguish itself as being transformational in the lives of students, while contributing to UWM’s role as a major engine of economic growth in Wisconsin,” Chari commented.

An expert in software engineering, business intelligence, and distributed systems, Chari served on the faculties of James Madison University in Virginia and Arkansas State University prior to joining the University of South Florida in 1998. He earned a PhD in Business with a major in Management Information Systems as well as an MBA from the University of Iowa, and a B.Tech. in Mechanical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur.

Chari will join the Lubar School in June, assuming the role from V. Kanti Prasad, who has served as dean from 2001-2009 and again since 2015.