Let’s see your Panther Pride on UWM’s 2018-2019 Black and Gold Spirit Days!
Friday, November 9 & Friday, March 8

Join us in this campus celebration of UWM spirit! Wear black and gold, decorate your office in Panther colors and compete for Team Black & Gold Spirit by participating in fun, team-building activities.

Activity List and Spirit Activities Entry Submission Form

Coming Soon! …

Spirit Liaisons
Team Department Spirit Liaison First Name Spirit Liaison Last Name Spirit Liaison E-mail
A Team Accessibility Resource Center Marion Angeloff angeloff@uwm.edu
Team #ThisIsWhy Alumni Relations & Development Kyle Hernandez khernand@uwm.edu
Team Assessment and Institutional Research Assessment and Institutional Research  Charisse Sekyi sekyi@uwm.edu
Team Career Planning & Resource Center Career Planning & Resource Center Molly Hetzner hetznerm@uwm.edu
Team Cartography & GIS Center Cartography & GIS Center Donna Genzmer dgs@uwm.edu
Team Center for International Education Center for International Education Susan Conway conways@uwm.edu 
Team Center for International Education Center for International Education Chie Kakigi kakigi@uwm.edu
Team Children’s Learning Center Children’s Learning Center Kathe Lerario klerario@uwm.edu
Team College Health College of Health Sciences Michelle Rimer rimer@uwm.edu 
Team College of Nursing College of Nursing Julie Frey jafrey@uwm.edu
Team College of Nursing College of Nursing Gina Lukaszewicz lukaszew@uwm.edu
Team L&S Relations & Development College of Letters & Sciences Relations & Development Alex Riehle ajriehle@uwm.edu
Team Continuing Education School of Continuing Education Karen Perlewitz kperlewi@uwm.edu
Team Continuing Education School of Continuing Education Kara Posnanski kmp4@uwm.edu
Team Ed Heads School of Education Maggie Kaczmarek kaczmarm@uwm.edu
Team Ed Heads School of Education Ryan Mason rgmason@uwm.edu
Team English Language Academy English Language Academy – Intensive English Program Amy Shields grisk@uwm.edu
Team Financial Aid Office Financial Aid Office Moriah Malig mmalig@uwm.edu
Team Health Informatics & Administration Health Informatics & Administration Felicia Zajicek frajicek@uwm.edu
Team Human Resources Human Resources Gina Halenka ginaeder@uwm.edu
Team Human Resources Human Resources Marissa Trgo metrgo@uwm.edu
Team Integrative Health Care & Performance Unit Integrative Health Care & Performance Unit Yeeilianna Hamilton hamiltoy@uwm.edu
Team IT Professional Services IT Professional Services Dale Grabarczyk grabarcz@uwm.edu
Team Law Enforcement & Ledger Defenders UWM Police/BFS Accounting Services Deidre Colas dlhardy@uwm.edu
Team Law Enforcement & Ledger Defenders UWM Police/BFS Accounting Services Aundria Johnson aundria@uwm.edu
Team Law Enforcement & Ledger Defenders UWM Police/BFS Accounting Services Monica Rodriguez monicar2@uwm.edu
Team Law Enforcement & Ledger Defenders UWM Police/BFS Accounting Services Michelle Oberg moberg@uwm.edu
Team Legal Affairs Legal Affairs Bron Nehring nehringb@uwm.edu
Team LGBTRC LGBT Resource Center Sarah DeGeorge madjr@uwm.edu
Team MAVRC MAVRC James Cocroft cocroftj@uwm.edu
Team Milwaukee Engineer College of Engineering & Applied Sciences Adam Nowaczyk nowaczyk@uwm.edu
Team Milwaukee Engineer College of Engineering & Applied Sciences Wendy Pero pero@uwm.edu
Team New Student Programs New Student Programs Mike Dixon dixonmw@uwm.edu
Team Occupational Science & Technology Occupational Science & Technology Justin Almquist almquistj@uwm.edu
Team Occupational Science & Technology Occupational Science & Technology Cynthia Warneke warneke@uwm.edu
Team OU-Hey Office of Undergraduate Admissions Courtney Bernd csbernd@uwm.edu
Team OU-Hey Office of Undergraduate Admissions Amy Danielson danielaj@uwm.edu
Team PASS PASS Mary Knasinski mkk2@uwm.edu
Team Phoenix Rising! Theatre Department Raeleen McMillion rtwrae@uwm.edu
Team Prancellor Office of the Chancellor/Office of the Provost Susan Podgorski suei@uwm.edu
Team Prancellor Office of the Chancellor/Office of the Provost Mary Tagliavia tagliavi@uwm.edu
Team Rad Grad! Graduate School Whitney Smith smithwm@uwm.edu
Team Rad Grad! Graduate School Steven Strehlow strehlos@uwm.edu
Team Research Rocks Office of Undergraduate Research Jessica Schuld jlschuld@uwm.edu
Team School of Architecture and Urban Planning School of Architecture and Urban Planning Tammy Stroschein-Taylor ttaylor@uwm.edu
Team School of Information Studies School of Information Studies Twyla McGhee twyla@uwm.edu
Team School of Information Studies School of Information Studies Maria Haigh mhaigh@uwm.edu
Team Student Involvement Student Involvement Krystal McCain kamccain@uwm.edu
Team Student Involvement Student Involvement Rachael Tregler rtregler@uwm.edu
Team Student Union Building Operations Student Union Building Alexander Williamson willi988@uwm.edu
Team Transportation Transportation Services Glenn Morgan glennd@uwm.edu
Team UITS-Bolton UITS Bolton Hall Help Desk Amber Rust rusta@uwm.edu
Team URC: Physics 4th Floor University Relations Christian Lago cjlago@uwm.edu
Team UWM Libraries UWM Libraries Susan Foran sbforan@uwm.edu
Team UWM Libraries UWM Libraries Kate Ganski ganski@uwm.edu
Team UWM Union UWM Union Susan Butovic susanb1@uwm.edu
Team Zilber School of Public Health Zilber School of Public Health George Henion henion@uwm.edu
Prizes

BACK THIS YEAR!

Team Black & Gold Spirit – For the team comprised of one or more offices who earns the most points by completing and documenting activities on the Spirit Days Activity List. Activities must be documented and entries sent in by 12pm on Spirit Day. The prize comes with an Office Lunch Party for 20, and a spirit basket sure to inspire, delight and put spring in your step.

If you work in a small office and want help finding an office to pair with to make a team, reach out to Abby Strozinsky at strozins@uwm.edu. We can help!

Panther Participation Office Lunch Prize – Chosen by drawing from among teams who submit at least one entry in the Spirit Days competition by 12pm on Spirit Day. The Office Lunch comes with an Office lunch Party for 20 and a spirit basket that’ll make you the envy of all proud Panthers and bumblebees.

FAQs

What’s new this year?
1) Instead of Most Spirited Office, to give small offices a fighting chance in the competition, participants – just one office or multiple offices competing as a team –will compete for Team Black & Gold Spirit.
2) We will make sure to give campus access to the Activities list at least two weeks before Spirit Day.
3) We are hosting Spirit Day Brainstorming on two dates during the 2018/2019 academic year during which time you can have coffee on us at a Grind Coffee Shop and give us ideas for the Activities lists.

It looks like the November Spirit Day falls during 2018 Homecoming, are there going to be special Homecoming activities?
YES! We are so excited that our first Spirit Day, November 9th, 2018 and week of activities falls during Homecoming this year! This is a great opportunity to get into the Homecoming SPIRIT! We will be working with Athletics to combine activities and build excitement around BOTH Spirit Days and Homecoming! Stay tuned for more information!

When are the Spirit Day Brainstorming sessions and where are they?
They are: Wednesday, October 17, 11:00am-12:00pm at the Union Grind and Friday, February 1, 8:30am-9:30am at the Library Grind

We’re an office. Do we have to form a team?
Yes, in order to compete, you have to form a team. The team could be your office or it could be your office in combination with another one or more offices.  If you are a Spirit Liaison and don’t name your team, we will default to Team ____________ (name of your office). The only thing to remember is that if your office and other offices compete together, you share the Office Lunch Party.

Can we name our team anything?
Yes, we will thumbs up any name guided by good taste and respect for all. The convention guiding us is Team _______________.  (Team Alumni, Team Women’s Studies, etc.). If you choose a non-office-related name, we just need to know which offices make up your team so we can put that on the Spirit Days site.

Can there be competing teams from one office or friends that compete together but don’t necessarily represent an office or offices?
We’d ask that a team represent an office or offices rather than have individuals from one office or offices compete with others from the same places. And while we hope teams are comprised of friends, we’d prefer to have some alignment with team and office/s.

What do we win as Team Black & Gold Spirit?
You will win Alumni Relations’ undying gratitude, major props on the UWM Spirit Days website and an Office Lunch Party for 20 people. You will also have some fun pictures of you and your colleagues doing silly, team-building activities.  And you will receive a cool Spirit Basket delivered by Alumni Relations staff.

Whoa, that’s an intimidating list. We can’t do every activity, but we’d like to participate in one or two.  Can we still win?
Yes, any team that submits one entry or more will be in a drawing for Panther Participation Office Lunch Prize. This, as you might imagine, comes with an Office Lunch Party for 20 people and a better day than you were having before (that is, unless you just won the lottery, in which case it may not make much of a difference). The Team Black & Gold Spirit winner is NOT eligible to win the Panther Participation Office Lunch Party for that Spirit Day. That would be way too much lunch!

What if we do all the activities on the list? Do we automatically win Team Black & Gold Spirit?
Yes! You will be recognized as Team Black & Gold Spirit if you complete all the activities on the list. You will win the Office Lunch party, too, if you have not already won the Team Black & Gold Spirit Office Lunch party during a previous Spirit Day.

How are we notified if our team wins?
Throughout the competition week, check uwm.edu/spiritdays to see where your team stands in the rankings. We will update point totals every weekday. The winner will be announced via uwm.edu/spiritdays on Spirit Day, and we in Alumni Relations will call the Spirit Liaison for the winning team or teams to inform them of their victory by 2pm that day.

Can our team win Team Black & Gold Spirit more than once?
Your team can be recognized as Team Black & Gold Spirit an unlimited number of times, but you can only win the Team Black & Gold Spirit Office Lunch Party once. If you earn the most points (or all the points available to earn) more than once, the Office Lunch Party for 20 will go to the runner up for Team Black & Gold Spirit or other teams that tied your totals. Your team can still be in the drawing for Panther Participation Office Lunch Party on that Spirit Day, however.

What if there is a tie for Team Black & Gold Spirit?
If there is a tie in points, we will award the Team Black & Gold Spirit title to both teams. We will award the Office Lunch party to as many teams as win the Team Black & Gold Spirit title, excepting those who have won the pizza party already in 2018-19 or being Team Black & Gold Spirit.

Can our team win the Panther Participation Office Lunch Prize more than once?
No.

So exactly how many Office Lunch parties can we win during the year?
You can win two total. Once for Team Black & Gold Spirit and once, if you’re selected in the drawing, for Panther Participation Office Lunch Prize.

When does the Office Lunch come if we win?
On Spirit Day we will come to your team with a Spirit Basket filled with everything that you need for your party. You will have a month from Spirit Day to host your Office Lunch party. If anyone in your office/on your team has a severe allergy or dietary restriction, please notify Abby Strozinsky at strozins@uwm.edu at least 72 hours prior to your Office Lunch Party so that we can coordinate alternative options.

Who are the judges of the competition?
The official judges of the competition are very math-skilled staff here in the Alumni Association.

Who is sponsoring this competition?
The UWM Alumni Association, UW Credit Union and Corner Bakery, who is providing the Office Lunches.

What if I have other questions?
Reach out to Abby Strozinsky at strozins@uwm.edu.

Is this a lot of fun?
You bet!