2017 Alumni Award Winners

The UWM Alumni Association is pleased to announce its 2017 Alumni Award winners. The 25 alumni recipients and two corporate partners were chosen for awards based on their outstanding professional achievements, civic involvement and partnerships with the university. They will be recognized for their accomplishments on Friday, October 6, 2017 at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee, WI.

“It is a true testament to the quality of a UWM education to have so many influential and devoted alumni, not only throughout the region, but across the country and throughout the world. We are so pleased to honor the demonstrated talent and altruism of this distinguished group of 2017 UWM alumni awardees,” says Adrienne Bass, associate vice chancellor of Alumni Relations.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Marilyn Rantz, PhD Nursing `92, Curators’ Professor Emerita, Sinclair School of Nursing, University of Missouri

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Theodore (Todd) Montgomery, MS Curriculum and Instruction `75, PhD Urban Education `84, Principal, TVM Consulting, LLC

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award

Sumit Agarwal, BS Computer Science ’93, MA Economics ’94, PhD Economics ’99, Professor of Economics and Finance, Georgetown University
Michael Gifford, Executive MBA `03, President and CEO, AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin (ARCW)
Stephanie Stein, BA English `68, Consultant on Aging, Advocacy, Public Policy

Community Service Award
Kevin Evans, MSW Social Work `11, Outreach Specialist for Veterans, Center for Veterans Issues
James Phelps, BBA Finance `08, President, JCP Construction

Panther Pride Volunteer Award
Wendel Chamberlin, BS Architectural Studies `73, MArch Architecture `76
Owner, WC Consulting, Inc.
Scott Conger, BBA Accounting `91, Investment Consultant, BMO Harris Bank
Women’s Giving Circle

Graduate of the Last Decade Award (Undergraduate)
Spencer Chumbley, BA Economics, Honors College `09, Producer and Cinematographer
Eric Jukkala, BS Health Care Administration `08, Practice Administrator, Northwestern Medical Group – Northwestern Medicine, Chicago, IL
Kevin Kiefer, BBA Finance, Investment Management, and Economics `14,
Portfolio Insights Team Member, Cornerstone Macro
Andrew Metz, BBA Marketing `07, Vice President, Zywave
Magdalena Rocha Ocampo, BBA Finance and Investment Management `14
Portfolio Strategy Team Member, Cornerstone Macro
Breanne Schatzman, BA Psychology `11, Rehabilitation Specialist, South End Community Health Center, Boston, MA
Brandon Tschacher, BBA Marketing `08, Director of Marketing, Thrivent
Meghan Walsh, BA International Studies`11, Assistant Director of Alumnae Engagement, Alverno College

Graduate of the Last Decade Award (Graduate)
Nicolle Davies, MLIS Library and Information Science `11, Executive Director, Charleston County Public Library
Melissa Ebbe, MA Art `05, MFA Art `07, Artist, Owner and Operator of Feral Works LLC
Andy Hargarten, BS Nursing `10, DNP Nursing Practice `15,
Lieutenant/Paramedic, Milwaukee Fire Department
Sam Leichtling, MPA Public Administration and MUP Urban Planning `09, Long Range Planning Manager, City of Milwaukee – Department of City Development
Elena Mihas, MA English `06, PhD Linguistics `10, Post-doctoral Research Associate in Anthropological Linguistics, The Cairns Institute, James Cook University, Australia
Marcia Silva, MS Engineering `06, PhD Engineering `13, Research Associate and Facility Manager

Honorary Alumni Award

Lauren (Laurie) Glass, Professor Emerita, College of Nursing, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Corporate Partner Award
Eppstein Uhen Architects
Ovation Communities

For ticket and event information, and sponsorship opportunities, please visit: https://alumni.uwm.edu/awards