• This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Certificate in Trauma Counseling

The Certificate in Trauma Counseling is an online non-credit training program offered by the School of Continuing Education for those who work with trauma survivors of abuse, violence, war, accident, crime and disaster. Consisting of two courses, Trauma Counseling I and Trauma Counseling II, the entire program provides 80 hours of classroom instruction – 40 hours per course. All instructors have been involved in diverse areas of trauma counseling with a variety of traumatized populations in acute to chronic situations.

Trauma Counseling I and II may be taken for 4.0 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) per course. Within the Trauma Counseling program, participants receive a Certificate of Completion after finishing each course.

Trauma Counseling I and II may also be used toward membership and/or special designation within trauma-focused professional organizations, such as the Association of Traumatic Stress Specialists (ATSS). Please follow your state’s policies and procedures for membership and/or special designation.

*Earn a SCE Certificate in Trauma Counseling by completing Trauma Counseling I and II in as little as 18 months (not to exceed three years). Upon successful completion, you are eligible to apply for certification as a Certified Trauma Services Specialist (CTSS) or Certified Trauma Responder (CTR) with the Association of Traumatic Stress Specialists (ATSS).

For CEUs: Please select one of the Trauma Counseling I or Trauma Counseling II links under the “Courses” section to complete the noncredit enrollment process.


Single courses may be taken without the pursuit of the certificate.

Who Should Attend

Nurses, social workers, therapists, staff at shelters or youth care programs, HR professionals, medical administrative and support staff, occupational therapists, teachers and school staff, emergency responders.

Curriculum Requirements

Earn the certificate by completing 2 courses within 3 years.

Earn the certificate by completing 2 courses within 3 years.