Institutional Biosafety Committee

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is a committee comprised of faculty, staff, and community members who oversee biological research at UWM involving recombinant and synthetic nucleic acid molecules in accordance with the National Institutes of Health Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant and Synthetic Nucleic Acids. In addition to overseeing research involving recombinant DNA or synthetic nucleic acids, the IBC reviews the use of the following:

  • Use of any biological agent of a risk group 2 or higher level
  • Select agents and toxins
  • Dual Use Research of Concern (DURC)
  • Stem cell research
  • Nanotechnology involving biological agents.
  • Human cells/ tissues.
  • Teaching activities that involve any of these materials.

It is required that the IBC maintains a membership of a minimum of five individuals, with expertise covering knowledge of recombinant DNA and synthetic nucleic acid molecules, a plant expert, an animal expert, the biological safety officer, the campus veterinarian, the campus physician, and at least two members that are from the community, not affiliated with UWM. A current record of membership is reported annually to the NIH Office of Science Policy (OSP) by the biological safety officer. For more information about the IBC, a meeting schedule, and request for meeting minutes, please contact the Biological Safety Officer.

For more information about IBC Member Requirements, visit the IBC Member Requirements Page.

Current Membership


Julie Oliver, Ph.D.- Mammalian Cell Biologist, Dept. of Biological Sciences

Appointed Members:

Todd Rex Miller, Ph.D.- Environmental Health and Toxicology, Zilber School of Public Health

Osvaldo Jhonatan Sepulveda-Villet, Ph.D.– Aquacultural Specialist, School of Freshwater Sciences

Ching-Liu Wu, M.S.– Instructional Laboratory Manager, Dept. of Biological Sciences

Bradley De Pons, MLS(ASCP)– Instructional Laboratory Manager, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences  

Gyaneshwar Prasad, Ph.D.- Plant/ Microbiological Expert, Dept. of Biological Sciences.

Appointed Community Members:

Bret D. Berglund, CHMM

Amber Enderle, M.S.

Diane Lindsley

Ex-Officio Voting Member and IBC Coordinator

Danielle Rintala, M.S. Biological Safety Officer , Dept. of University Safety and Assurances

Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members

Julia Bonner, M.D.- Campus Health Officer

Beryl R. Forman, D.V.M.- Campus Veterinarian, Dept. of University Safety and Assurances

Melissa Spadanuda, M.B.A– Associate Director of Compliance, Dept. of University Safety and Assurances

Jenelle Reick, Research Safety Program Manager, Dept. of University Safety and Assurances

Fall 2017 Schedule: 

Friday, October 27, 12:00-2:00 PM Lapham Hall 185


Friday, November 17, 1:00-3:00 PM Engelmann Hall, Room 242


Note: There will be no meeting in December. Meetings will re-convene in January.

Authority of the IBC

The IBC makes decisions to approve or reject biological research protocols based on the following policies, procedures, guidelines, regulations, and laws:


IBC Registration Policies – learn about how protocols are evaluated and approved by the IBC.

IBC FAQs– These FAQs may help you in determining your IBC requirements for your research protocol submissions.

Flow Chart for Protocols Requiring IBC Approval– This shows the evaluation and voting process for review of protocols requiring IBC approval.

IBC Registration Flowchart– Does Note Require Quorum Majority Vote- This shows the evaluation process for a registration not requiring IBC majority vote.

Overview for submitting and gaining approval of an IBC protocol– This is a chart of the approval process.

IBC Protocol Registration Forms and Form Submission– This page has the various registration forms, as well as a place to submit the registration materials.