Persons with Disabilities – Passenger Vehicles

Click a category for more information

ADA Regulations
Are You Eligible?
Any person certified by an authorized health care specialist as having a temporary disability is eligible for the Disabled Parking Identification (DIS ID) Permit. By legal definition, this includes any person who:

  • Cannot walk 200 feet or more without stopping to rest.
  • Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, another person or brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistance device.
  • Is restricted by lung disease to the extent that forced expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest.
  • Uses portable oxygen.
  • Has a cardiac condition to the extent that functional limitations are classified in severity as class III or IV, according to standards accepted by the American Heart Association.
  • Is severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.

DIS ID permit display
A DIS ID permit must be hung from the interior rearview mirror of a motor vehicle when parked in a space reserved for persons with a physical disability. For exceptions to this rule, please contact the Special Plates Unit via email at special-plates.dmv@dot.state.wi.us. Remove the permit from the rearview mirror when operating the vehicle.

DIS ID permit use
A motor vehicle displaying a DIS ID permit issued by Wisconsin or any other state or country, is subject to all Wisconsin motor vehicle laws and qualifies for certain privileges.

  • May park in spaces marked by official traffic signs reserving the space for vehicles displaying VET or DIS plates or a DIS ID permit in all 50 states, D.C. and Puerto Rico.
  • Is exempt from any parking ordinance imposing time limits of one-half hour or more and is subject to the laws relating to parking.
  • May park at a municipally-owned/leased lot without payment in metered spaces when the time limit is one-half hour or more. Payment may be required for privately-owned parking lots or those with an attendant.
  • May obtain fuel from a full-service pump at the same price as the fuel from a self-service pump at locations with both types of service, if the driver is the person with the disability. The driver of the vehicle must ask for the same price as charged for fuel dispensed from a self-service pump. The retailer is not required to provide any other service that is not provided to customers who use a self-service pump.

Things you should know
  • Persons with a temporary disability will receive a red DIS ID permit that is valid up to six months. If a permit is needed longer than six months, you may apply for another permit that is valid up to another six months.
  • Temporary DIS ID permits are $6 each. Applications made at a local DMV customer service center (Click Here for more information) that provides DIS ID permit service are subject to a counter service fee (Click Here for more information).
  • Persons with a permanent disability should complete the Permanent Disabled Parking Identification Permit Application form MV2548 [link to form], or MV2548s (Spanish) [link to form].
  • If you are a licensed driver, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) may review your disability to make sure you are able to exercise ordinary and reasonable control of a motor vehicle. If the certifying health care specialist recommends a re-examination, you will be required to complete a knowledge, highway signs and road test to determine any license restrictions.
  • A person with a valid DIS ID permit issued by another jurisdiction may use the permit while visiting this state.
  • For information about temporary disabled parking for a motorcycle, contact the Special Plates Unit.
  • An organization that regularly transports persons who have a temporary or permanent disability that impairs the ability to walk may apply for a DIS ID permit. Please contact the Special Plates Unit for information.

How to apply for a DIS ID permit (temporary disability)
Download the Temporary Disabled Parking Identification Permit application form, MV2933 [link to form] or MV2933s (Spanish) [link to form].

  1. Read the Are you eligible? section and complete the Applicant section if you qualify.
  2. Have an authorized health care specialist complete the Eligibility section.
  3. You must keep a copy of the completed application on your person or in the vehicle and provide it to any traffic officer for inspection upon request. Make and keep a copy before submitting the application to WisDOT.
  4. Pay a $6 fee. Make check or money order payable to Registration Fee Trust.
  5. Mail fee with the completed application to:

WisDOT
Special Plates Unit – DIS ID
P.O. Box 7306
Madison, WI 53707-7306

Applications made at a local DMV customer service center (Click Here for more information) that provides DIS ID permit service are subject to a counter service fee (Click Here for more information).


Release of non exempt information
WisDOT uses the information on the MV2933 form to issue DIS ID permits. Under Wisconsin open records laws, WisDOT must provide information from its records to requesters. If you do not want your name and address included in requests we receive for ten or more records, you may ask the department to withhold your name and address from those lists by completing the Release of non exempt information portion on the application form.

WisDOT complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

For more information

  • Disabled parking identification card (permanent disability) [Click Here for more information]
Parking on campus for persons with disabilities
Public parking on campus for persons with disabilities
Any person who has the state ID card, disabled plates, or disabled veteran plates does not need to display a UWM permit but they must pay the applicable fee at the parking meter, pay station or cashier.

Specially reserved parking spaces are posted for use only by vehicles which have purchased a UWM disabled permit or display disabled plates, disabled placard or state-issued ID card. Be sure to display proper certification as any vehicle parked in a disabled parking space without proper identification is subject to a ticket and/or tow-away at the owner’s expense.


Permit parking on campus for persons with disabilities
UWM Disabled permits are sold on a per-semester basis for students. The cost is $100 for fall semester, $100 for spring semester, and $70 for the summer for students. The permit is prorated from the start date of purchase.

UWM Disabled permits are sold on an annual basis for faculty and staff members. The cost is $900 per year starting with June 1 throgh May 31 of the following year. The permit is prorated from the start date of purchase.

UWM Disabled permits grant the permit holder access to all disabled spaces on campus, including garages. Please note if all disabled spaces are full when attempting to park while using your disabled permit, your permit will be honored in a public space in the lot after contacting the Transportation Services office at (414) 229-4000 or via email at uwmpark@uwm.edu.

Permits are purchased from the UWM Transportation Services Office, Room WG25 in the Student Union. Evidence of eligibility and arrangement for payment in full is required at the time of purchase. UWM Disabled Permits are valid in all lots on campus.

Email uwmpark@uwm.edu for more information.


Drivers transporting persons with disabilities
Persons who provide transportation to people with disabilities will not be considered eligible to obtain a UWM Disabled parking permit. In such cases drivers may park in available 30 minute meter or general public spaces to assist a passenger with a disability, and pay for the space.