Nursing Fellowships Celebrated

Congratulations to our students who were recognized at the UWM Fellowship Celebration on September 28 Graduate Student Excellence Fund: Martha Kimpton Badger “This award not only provides me with the financial means to complete my degree, but also an extra… Read More

DAISY Faculty Awardees Miller and Kako

UW-Milwaukee College of Nursing would like to congratulate Cheryl Miller, MSN, RN and Peninnah Kako, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, APNP who were recognized with earning the DAISY Faculty Award in May 2016. The DAISY Award(R) for Extraordinary Nurses – honors the… Read More

UWM CON named a top nursing school in the Great Lakes

The College of Nursing is home to 3 Nursing Research Chairs

For their inaugural rankings, the research team at Nursing Schools Almanac collected data on over 3,200 nursing schools and campuses throughout the United States. They included the following states within their Great Lakes rankings: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin…. Read More

CON Colleagues Present in South Africa

UWM Faculty, Emerita Faculty, and Visiting Scholar presented their work at the International Sigma Theta Tau Research Congress Leading Global Research: Advancing Practice, Advocacy and Policy in July, 2016. Assistant Professor, Dora Clayton-Jones, Emerita Professor, Kathleen Sawin and recent Visiting… Read More

Zika Virus Podcast-with CON Scientist

It’s called Zika Virus and, so far, it’s mosquito-carriers are being linked to a wide path of illness, severe birth defects and even deaths in several countries around the world. So, what threat level could Zika Virus pose for our… Read More

Public Health Award presented to Dr. Jeanne Hewitt

Dr. Jeanne Hewitt, PhD, RN, received the Distinguished Service to Public Health Award at the 2016 Annual Public Health Conference May 24-26 in Appleton, Wisconsin. The purpose of the award is to recognize the special contribution through leadership or service… Read More

CON Professor appointed to NIH Council

Dr. Aaron Buseh has been appointed to the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research at National Institutes of Health (NIH). The National Advisory Council for Nursing Research (NACNR) consists of six ex officio members (or their designees): the Secretary, Health… Read More