Research

The Mathematical Sciences department has researchers in a number of areas. The following is an approximate list of the main research groups in the department and their members. These are informal groupings; naturally many faculty members belong to multiple groups.

Actuarial Science

Brazauskas-(1)
Vytaras Brazauskas, ASA
Co-Director of Actuarial Science (Graduate); Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvytaras@uwm.edu(414) 229-5656Eng & Math Sciences E457
ho (2)
Yang Ho, FSA
Co-Director of Actuarial Science (Undergraduate); Clinical Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhoy@uwm.edu(414) 229-4831Eng & Math Sciences E452
wei (3)
Wei Wei
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalweiw@uwm.edu(414) 229-6329Eng & Math Sciences E446

Algebra

Bell_Math_0020
Allen Bell
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaladbell@uwm.edu(414) 229-4233Eng & Math Sciences E449
Musson
Ian Musson
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalmusson@uwm.edu(414) 229-5953Eng & Math Sciences W405
Willenbring2
Jeb Willenbring
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaljw@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E461
Zou-(6)
Yi Ming Zou
Associate Chair for the Graduate Program; Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalymzou@uwm.edu(414) 229-5110Eng & Math Sciences E402

Analysis

Fan (1)
Dashan Fan
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalfan@uwm.edu(414) 229-4425Eng & Math Sciences E459
Lin2
Tzu-chu Lin
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generallin@uwm.edu(414) 229-4923Eng & Math Sciences E463
McLeod2
Kevin McLeod
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.edu(414) 229-5269Eng & Math Sciences E481
Sun (1)
Lijing Sun
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.edu(414) 229-5113Eng & Math Sciences E465
Volkmer (2)
Hans Volkmer
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvolkmer@uwm.edu(414) 229-5950Eng & Math Sciences E451

Applied Mathematics

hinow (1)
Peter Hinow
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.edu(414) 229-6886Eng & Math Sciences E491
Lauko2
Istvan Lauko
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaliglauko@uwm.edu(414) 229-4920Eng & Math Sciences E441
Pinter
Gabriella Pinter
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgapinter@uwm.edu(414) 229-3527Eng & Math Sciences E479
Wang
Lei Wang
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.edu(414) 229-4934Eng & Math Sciences E492
Xie (2)
Dexuan Xie
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.edu(414) 229-5103Eng & Math Sciences E422

Atmospheric Science

evans (2)
Clark Evans
Atmospheric Science Program Coordinator; Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalevans36@uwm.edu(414) 229-4469Eng & Math Sciences W401
Kahl (4)
Jonathan Kahl
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkahl@uwm.edu(414) 229-3949Eng & Math Sciences W435
Kravtsov_Math_0033
Sergey Kravtsov
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkravtsov@uwm.edu(414) 229-4863Eng & Math Sciences E445
Larson (1)
Vincent Larson
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvlarson@uwm.edu(414) 229-5490Eng & Math Sciences E477
Headshots of students
Paul Roebber
Distinguished Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalroebber@uwm.edu(414) 229-3950Eng & Math Sciences W428
Swanson2
Kyle Swanson
Department Chair; Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkswanson@uwm.edu(414) 229-3371Eng & Math Sciences E404A
Tsonis
Anastasios Tsonis
Distinguished Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalaatsonis@uwm.edu(414) 229-5373Eng & Math Sciences W441

Differential Equations

hinow (1)
Peter Hinow
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.edu(414) 229-6886Eng & Math Sciences E491
McLeod2
Kevin McLeod
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.edu(414) 229-5269Eng & Math Sciences E481
Pinter
Gabriella Pinter
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgapinter@uwm.edu(414) 229-3527Eng & Math Sciences E479
Sun (1)
Lijing Sun
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.edu(414) 229-5113Eng & Math Sciences E465
Volkmer (2)
Hans Volkmer
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvolkmer@uwm.edu(414) 229-5950Eng & Math Sciences E451

Dynamical Systems

Boyd_Math_0045
Suzanne Boyd
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsboyd@uwm.edu(414) 708-6472 (cell)Eng & Math Sciences E443

Numerical Analysis

Lin2
Tzu-chu Lin
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generallin@uwm.edu(414) 229-4923Eng & Math Sciences E463
Wang
Lei Wang
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.edu(414) 229-4934Eng & Math Sciences E492
Xie (2)
Dexuan Xie
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.edu(414) 229-5103Eng & Math Sciences E422

Probability & Stochastic Analysis

Key
Eric Key
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalericskey@uwm.edu(414) 229-4600Eng & Math Sciences E455
stockbridge (1)
Richard Stockbridge
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalstockbri@uwm.edu(414) 229-3947Eng & Math Sciences W447
wei (3)
Wei Wei
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalweiw@uwm.edu(414) 229-6329Eng & Math Sciences E446
Zhu (2)
Chao Zhu
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalzhu@uwm.edu(414) 229-3528Eng & Math Sciences E489

Statistics

Beder_Math_0052
Jay Beder
Assistant Chair for Undergraduate Studies; Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalbeder@uwm.edu(414) 229-5280Eng & Math Sciences E485
Brazauskas-(1)
Vytaras Brazauskas, ASA
Co-Director of Actuarial Science (Graduate); Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvytaras@uwm.edu(414) 229-5656Eng & Math Sciences E457
Head shot of Math Professor Daniel Gervini
Daniel Gervini
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgervini@uwm.edu(414) 229-5270Eng & Math Sciences E487
Ghorai_Math_0013
Jugal Ghorai
MthStat 215 Coordinator; Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaljugal@uwm.edu(414) 229-4516Eng & Math Sciences E453

Topology

Ancel-(1)
Fredric Ancel
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalancel@uwm.edu(414) 229-6372Eng & Math Sciences E473
Guilbault (3)
Craig Guilbault
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalcraigg@uwm.edu(414) 229-4568Eng & Math Sciences E471
hruska (4)
Chris Hruska
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalchruska@uwm.edu(414) 229-4307Eng & Math Sciences E475
Okun
Boris Okun
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalokun@uwm.edu(414) 229-3529Eng & Math Sciences E483