Research

The Mathematical Sciences department has researchers in a number of areas. The following is an approximate list of the main research groups in the department and their members. These are informal groupings; naturally many faculty members belong to multiple groups.

Actuarial Science Research Group

Vytaras Brazauskas, ASA
Associate Chair for Actuarial Science (Graduate); Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvytaras@uwm.edu(414) 229-5656Eng & Math Sciences E457
Yang Ho, FSA, PhD
Director of Actuarial Science (Undergraduate); Clinical Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhoy@uwm.edu(414) 229-4831Eng & Math Sciences E452
Wei Wei
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalweiw@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E455

Algebra Research Group

Allen Bell
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaladbell@uwm.edu(414) 229-4233Eng & Math Sciences E449
Ian Musson
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalmusson@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E492
Jeb Willenbring
Associate Chair for the Graduate Program; Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaljw@uwm.edu(414) 229-5280Eng & Math Sciences E461
Yi Ming Zou
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalymzou@uwm.edu(414) 229-5110Eng & Math Sciences E410

Analysis Research Group

Dashan Fan
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalfan@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E459
Tzu-chu Lin
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generallin@uwm.edu(414) 229-4923Eng & Math Sciences E463
Kevin McLeod
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.edu(414) 229-5269Eng & Math Sciences E481
Lijing Sun
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E465
Hans Volkmer
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvolkmer@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E451

Applied Mathematics Research Group

Peter Hinow
Colloquium Chair; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E491
Istvan Lauko
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaliglauko@uwm.edu(414) 229-4920Eng & Math Sciences E441
Gabriella Pinter
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgapinter@uwm.edu(414) 229-3527Eng & Math Sciences E479
Lei Wang
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E453
Dexuan Xie
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.edu(414) 229-5103Eng & Math Sciences E422

Atmospheric Science Research Group

Clark Evans
Associate Chair for Atmospheric Science; Atmospheric Science Coordinator; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences / Atmospheric Science Programevans36@uwm.edu(414) 229-4469Eng & Math Sciences W401
Jonathan Kahl
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkahl@uwm.edu(414) 229-3949Eng & Math Sciences W435
Sergey Kravtsov
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkravtsov@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W441
Vincent Larson
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvlarson@uwm.edu(414) 229-5490Eng & Math Sciences E477
Paul Roebber
Distinguished Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalroebber@uwm.edu(414) 229-3950Eng & Math Sciences W428
Jesse Schaffer
Research Assistant
Mathematical Sciences - Atmospheric Scienceschaff26@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences W417

Differential Equations Research Group

Peter Hinow
Colloquium Chair; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalhinow@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E491
Kevin McLeod
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalkevinm@uwm.edu(414) 229-5269Eng & Math Sciences E481
Gabriella Pinter
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgapinter@uwm.edu(414) 229-3527Eng & Math Sciences E479
Lijing Sun
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsun2@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E465
Hans Volkmer
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvolkmer@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E451

Dynamical Systems Research Group

Suzanne Boyd
Assistant Chair; Math 115 Coordinator; Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalsboyd@uwm.edu(414) 708-6472 (cell)Eng & Math Sciences W405

Numerical Analysis Research Group

Tzu-chu Lin
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generallin@uwm.edu(414) 229-4923Eng & Math Sciences E463
Lei Wang
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalwang256@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E453
Dexuan Xie
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generaldxie@uwm.edu(414) 229-5103Eng & Math Sciences E422

Probability & Stochastic Analysis Research Group

Richard Stockbridge
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalstockbri@uwm.edu(414) 229-3947Eng & Math Sciences W447
Wei Wei
Assistant Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalweiw@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E455
Chao Zhu
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalzhu@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E489

Statistics Research Group

Jay Beder
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalbeder@uwm.edu(414) 229-4836Eng & Math Sciences E485
Vytaras Brazauskas, ASA
Associate Chair for Actuarial Science (Graduate); Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalvytaras@uwm.edu(414) 229-5656Eng & Math Sciences E457
Daniel Gervini
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalgervini@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E487

Topology Research Group

Craig Guilbault
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalcraigg@uwm.edu(414) 229-4568Eng & Math Sciences E471
Chris Hruska
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalchruska@uwm.edu(414) 229-4307Eng & Math Sciences E475
Boris Okun
Professor
Mathematical Sciences - Generalokun@uwm.eduEng & Math Sciences E483