People

Faculty

Kimberly Blaeser

Kimberly Blaeser

Professor, English

Teaching and research interests: Native American Literatures, Theories of Indigenous Literatures, American Nature Writing, and Creative Writing including Poetry, Life Writing, and Nature Writing. kblaeser@uwm.edu

View full profile »

Donald-Green

Donald Green

Associate Professor, Sociology

Teaching and research interests: Criminology, delinquency, social control, the Native American experience. dgreen@uwm.edu

View full profile »

Cary Miller

Cary Miller

Associate Professor, History

Teaching and research interests: Anishinaabe leadership in the early 19th century, Anishinaabe women’s history; treaties and sovereignty, Wisconsin Indian History. carym@uwm.edu

View full profile »


Margaret Noodin

Margaret Noodin

Assistant Professor, English

Teaching and research interests: Indigenous American literature, Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe) language, language revitalization. noodin@uwm.edu

View full profile »

Bernard Perley

Bernard Perley

Associate Professor, Anthropology

Teaching and research interests: Linguistic anthropology – language ideology, language endangerment, and language revitalization; visual anthropology – graphic ethnography (theory and practice); American Indian Studies- repatriation (tangible and intangible properties), Indigeneity (aboriginality), and self-determination as ethnocosmogenesis (semiotics, intertextuality, and intermediality). bcperley@uwm.edu

View full profile »

Jason Sherman

(Robert) Jason Sherman

Associate Professor, Anthropology

Teaching and research interests: Formation and development of archaic states and their impact on smaller communities; state development in Mesoamerican native populations; primary fieldwork in Oaxaca, Mexico; fieldwork experience in Maya lowlands, southwestern and southeastern U.S. shermanr@uwm.edu

View full profile »


profile-default

Laura Villamil

Assistant Professor, Anthropology

Teaching and research interests: Development of archaic states and patterns of urbanization in Mesoamerica; the built environment of native people’s ancient cities; primary fieldwork in the Maya lowlands (Quintana Roo, Mexico, fieldwork experience in highland Mexico, Belize and western and southeastern U.S. laurav@uwm.edu

View full profile »

Mike-Wilson

Michael Wilson

Associate Professor, English

Teaching and research interests: Indigenous literatures of North America, postcolonial theory and indigenous literatures. michael@uwm.edu

View full profile »