logoLet’s see your Panther Pride
on UWM Black and Gold
Spirit Days

 

 

Join us in this campus celebration of UWM spirit! Wear black and gold, decorate your office in Panther colors and compete for Most Spirited Office by participating in fun activities.

Spirit Day Dates

Spirit Day #1 – Thursday, October 6, 2016
Spirit Day #2 – Friday, November 4, 2016
Spirit Day #3 – Friday, March 3, 2017
Spirit Day #4 – Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Activity List and Spirit Activities Entry Submission Form

Click HERE for the Spirit Days Activity list.


Spirit Leaderboard
Department Spirit Liaison Points
UITS PROJECT MANAGEMENT Cassie 410
SOIS Twyla 410
STUDENT INVOLVEMENT Jenny and Krystal 410
ACCESSIBILITY RESOURCE CENTER Marion 410
UNDERGRADUATE ADMISSIONS Amy 410
Integrative Health Care and Performance Unit Yeeilianna 190
Student Success Center Colin 150
Center for International Education Sue 140
School of Continuing Education Kara and Karen 90
University Relations Angela and Steve 80
Office of the Provost Sue 30
Legal Affairs Jennifer 20
Lubar School of Business Mary entry

Spirit Liaisons
If you’d like to be a Spirit Liaison, just contact Cindy and you’re in! The responsibilities are encouraging your colleagues to wear black and gold on Black & Gold Spirit Days, decorating your office in Panther colors and leading your colleagues in participating in and documenting your participation in fun campus activities in the week leading up to Spirit Days. Submit your documentation entries by noon on Spirit Day to be in the running for Most Spirited Office.

2016/2017 Spirit Liaisons

Department First Name Last Name E-mail
Academic Opportunity Center Sharon Warren reneew@uwm.edu
Accessibility Resource Center Marion Angeloff angeloff@uwm.edu
Accounting Services Stephanie Plavec saplavec@uwm.edu
African American Student Academic Services Gary Cooper-Sperber gccooper@uwm.edu
Alumni Relations & Development Bonnie Fuggiasco fuggiasc@uwm.edu
Alumni Relations & Development Ana Myers myersam@uwm.edu
Assessment and Institutional Research Charisse Sekyi sekyi@uwm.edu
Athletics Nate Dudzik dudzikn@uwm.edu
Biological Sciences Nancy Wolf wolfnl@uwm.edu
Career Planning and Resource Center Michelle Jackson jacks284@uwm.edu
Career Planning and Resource Center Kathryn Wedige kgwedige@uwm.edu
Cartography & GIS Center Donna Genzmer dgs@uwm.edu
Center for International Education Sue Conway conways@uwm.edu
Children’s Learning Center Kathe Lerario klerario@uwm.edu
College of Engineering & Applied Science Wendy Pero pero@uwm.edu
College of Health Sciences Mai Her mher@uwm.edu
College of Nursing Gina Lukaszewicz lukaszew@uwm.edu
Electa Quinney Institute Maurina Paradise paradim@uwm.edu
Graduate School Caroline Orr ceorr@uwm.edu
Integrative Health Care & Performance Unit Yeeilianna Hamilton hamiltoy@uwm.edu
Legal Affairs Jennifer Herzog herzogj@uwm.edu
LGBT Resource Center Sarah DeGeorge peerout@uwm.edu
Lubar School of Business Mary Moore-Geissler moorege2@uwm.edu
Neighborhood Housing Office Ean Holtz eanholtz@uwm.edu
Occupational Science & Technology Cynthia Warneke warneke@uwm.edu
Office of the Chancellor Christy Uttech webercl@uwm.edu
Office of the Provost Sue Podgorski suei@uwm.edu
PASS Mary Knasinski mkk2@uwm.edu
Peck School of the Arts Rebecca Christman christrm@uwm.edu
Restaurant Operations Kristi Grunow grunow@uwm.edu
Roberto Hernandez Center Olivia Navarro onavarro@uwm.edu
School of Architecture & Urban Planning Tammy Stroschein-Taylor ttaylor@uwm.edu
School of Continuing Education Kara Posnanski kmp4@uwm.edu
School of Continuing Education Karen Perlewitz kperlewi@uwm.edu
School of Education Maggie Kaczmarek kaczmarm@uwm.edu
School of Freshwater Sciences Lindsay Frost lgfrost@uwm.edu
School of Information Studies Twyla McGhee twyla@uwm.edu
Student Association Professional Staff Office Brooke Messier bmessier@uwm.edu
Student Involvement Krystal McCain kamccain@uwm.edu
Student Involvement Jenny Wentzell wentzell@uwm.edu
Student Success Center Colin Daly daly@uwm.edu
Undergraduate Admissions Amy Danielson danielaj@uwm.edu
Undergraduate Research Kyla Esguerra kylam@uwm.edu
University Relations Angela McManaman alm5@uwm.edu
University Relations Steve Strehlow strehlos@uwm.edu
UITS Project Management Cassie McMurphy cassia@uwm.edu
Zilber School of Public Health George Henion henion@uwm.edu
Prizes
Most Spirited Office – For the department/office who earns the most points by completing and documenting activities on the Spirit Days Activity List. Activities must be documented and entries sent in by 12pm on Spirit Day. The prize comes with a Pizza Shuttle Pizza Party for 20, a spirit basket sure to inspire and delight and a much better day.

Panther Participation Pizza Prize – Chosen by drawing from among departments/offices who submit at least one entry in the Spirit Days competition by 12pm on Spirit Day. The prize comes with a Pizza Shuttle Pizza Party for 20 and much love from the UWM Alumni Association.

FAQs
  • What do we win as Most Spirited Office?
    You will win undying gratitude, major props on the UWM Spirit Days website and a Pizza Shuttle Pizza Party for 20 people. You will also have a much better day.
  • Whoa, we can’t do every activity, but we’d like to participate in an activity or two.  Can we still win?
    Yes, any office that submits one entry or more will be in a drawing for the famed Panther Participation Pizza Prize.  This, as you might imagine, comes with a Pizza Shuttle Pizza Party for 20 people and a much improved day.  The Most Spirited Office winner is NOT eligible to win the Panther Participation Pizza Prize for that Spirit Day.   That would be way too many pizzas.
  • How are we notified if our office wins?
    Throughout the competition week, check spiritdays.uwm.edu to see where your office stands in the rankings. We will update point totals every weekday. The winner will be announced via spiritdays.uwm.edu by 2pm on Spirit Day!
  • Can our office win the Most Spirited Office more than once?
    Your office can be recognized as Most Spirited Office an unlimited number of times, but you can only win the Most Spirited Office Pizza Party once. If you earn the most points more than once, the Pizza Party for 20 will go to the runner up for Most Spirited Office.  Your office can still be in the drawing for Panther Participation Pizza Prize on that Spirit Day, however.
  • What if there is a tie for Most Spirited Office?
    If there is a tie in points, we will award the Most Spirited Office title to both offices.
  • Can our office win the Panther Participation Pizza Prize more than once?
    No.
  • So exactly how many pizza parties can we win?
    You can win two total.  Once for Most Spirited Office and once, if you’re selected in the drawing, for Panther Participation Pizza Prize.
  • When does the pizza come if we win?
    On Spirit Day we will come to your office with the drinks, cups and plates that you need for your party along with a very festive basket.  We will also send out a survey that you can complete to let us know what kind of pizzas you want and when.  You will have a month from Spirit Day to host your pizza party.  You’ll need to complete the survey at least 72 hours from when you want to host your party.
  • We have gluten sensitivity and other allergies in our office. What about us?
    Our pizza vendor, Pizza Shuttle, offers gluten-free options.  If you have a dairy or other allergy, we will work with you to find another suitable option.
  • Who are the judges of the competition?
    The official judges of the competition are staff here in the Alumni Association.
  • Who is sponsoring this competition?
    The UWM Alumni Association and Pizza Shuttle, who is providing the pizzas.
  • Is this a lot of fun?
    You bet!